Connect with us


TCU Unveiled Bronze Statues Of Three College Football Greats

The Horned Frogs unveiled bronze statues forever immortalizing college football legends Davey O’Brien, Dutch Meyer, and Gary Patterson.

TCU unveils bronze statue of coach Gary Patterson - Twitter - TCUFootball

It was a big weekend for TCU football. They had their open spring scrimmage on Friday night (more on that later this week), and on Saturday they unveiled three new bronze statues immortalizing a big part of their football heritage.

Davey O’Brien won the 1938 Heisman Trophy, and was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 1955. In 1977 the Davey O’Brien Memorial Trophy was established and given to the most outstanding player in the Southwest. In 1981 the trophy was renamed to the Davey O’Brien Award, and is now awarded to the most outstanding quarterback in the country.

Dutch Meyer is a true TCU legend. A TCU alum and former player, he took over as the Horned Frogs head football coach in 1934 and lead them to a National Championship in 1934 and 1938, along with three Southwest Conference Championships in 1938, 1944, and 1951 before retiring from football in 1952. He finished with a record of 109-79-13, and took the Horned Frogs to 7 bowl games.

That on its own is probably enough to be immortalized in bronze, but that’s just the tip of the iceberg. Meyer was also the head coach of the basketball team from 1934 to 1937, and coached the baseball team from 1926 to 1934, in 1945, and again from 1956 to 1957. After retiring from coaching he went on to become TCU’s Athletic Director until 1963. Truly an impressive career.

Coach Gary Patterson was hired to lead the Horned Frogs in 2000, and in 2012 he passed Meyer’s 109 total wins to become TCU’s all-time winningest football coach. Spending his whole career as a head coach up to this point in Fort Worth, he’s amassed a record of 143-47 for a winning percentage over 75%!

In his 15 years at the helm he’s taken TCU to a bowl game 13 of those years highlighted by a win in the 2010 Rose Bowl, and won a total of six conference championships in three different conferences, and he’s not done yet.

Check out our Gameday Merch

More in TCU