Connect with us

Big 12 News

The Coaches 2016 All-Big 12 Awards Announced

This would be one heck of a team!

USA TODAY Sports - Jerome Miron

Yesterday, the Big 12 released their coaches picks for the 2016 All-Big 12 awards, and Oklahoma leads the 1st team with a total of seven players. The individual awards are listed below, followed by the first and second teams.

Individual Awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Dede Westbrook OU WR SO
Defensive Player of the Year: Jordan Willis KSU DE SR
Offensive Newcomer of the Year: Justin Crawford WVU RB JR
Defensive Newcomer of the Year: D.J. Reed KSU DB SO
Offensive Freshman of the Year: Justice Hill OSU RB FR
Defensive Freshman of the Year: Reggie Walker KSU DE FR
Special Teams Player of the Year: Michael Dickson TEX P SO
Offensive Lineman of the Year: Orlando Brown OU OT SO
Defensive Lineman of the Year: Jordan Willis KSU DE SR
Chuck Neinas Coach of the Year: Bob Stoops OU

Highlighting the first team is the Sooners Heisman duo Baker Mayfield and Dede Westbrook, who both got the invite to New York City. Westbrook was also named the Offensive Player of the Year. D’onta Foreman did not get invited to New York, however, he did make the All-Big 12 first team after his impressive junior campaign in which he broke the 2,000 yard mark rushing.

On the defensive side, not only was Jordan Willis listed on the first team, but was also named the Big-12 Defensive player of the year. TCU LB Travin Howard led the Big 12 in tackles with a total of 125.

Texas Tech didn’t have anyone on the first team, but they did have a couple of players named to the second team. In a year where Patrick Mahomet wasn’t always fully healthy, he still piled up video game like numbers. Mahomes accounted for 5,051 passing yards and 41 touchdowns through the air, earning him All-Big 12 second team quarterback. Not only was Justice Hill the offensive freshman of the year, he was also named to the All-Big 12 second team. Ogbonnia Okoronkwo came in third in the Big-12 in total sacks, piling up 9 on the year.

For the second year in a row, Bob stoops is taking home coach of the year honors after the Sooners (10-2, 9-0) went undefeated in Big 12 play. The only other coach to win the award back to back is Bill Snyder.

Big 12 1st Team – Offense

QB Baker Mayfield OU JR
RB Joe Mixon OU SO
RB D’Onta Foreman TEX JR
FB Winston Dimel KSU SO
WR K.D. Cannon BAY JR
WR Allen Lazard ISU JR
WR Dede Westbrook OU SR
WR James Washington OSU JR
TE Mark Andrews OU SO
OL Kyle Fuller BAY SR
OL Dalton Risner KSU SO
OL Orlando Brown OU SO
OL Connor Williams TEX SO
OL Tyler Orlosky WVU SR
PK Cole Netten ISU SR
KR/PR Byron Pringle KSU SO

Big 12 1st Team – Defense

DL K.J. Smith BAY JR
DL Dorance Armstrong, Jr. KU SO
DL Jordan Willis KSU SR
DL Vincent Taylor OSU JR
DL Josh Carraway TCU SR
LB Elijah Lee KSU JR
LB Jordan Evans OU SR
LB Travin Howard TCU JR
DB Fish Smithson KU SR
DB Jordan Thomas OU JR
DB Jordan Sterns OSU SR
DB Rasul Douglas WVU SR
P Michael Dickson TEX SO

Big 12 2nd Team – Offense

QB Patrick Mahomes II TTU JR
RB Samaje Perine OU JR
RB Justice Hill OSU FR
FB Dimitri Flowers OU JR
WR Jonathan Giles TTU SO
WR Shelton Gibson WVU JR
WR Daikiel Shorts Jr. WVU SR
TE Blake Jarwin OSU SR
OL Nick Fett ISU SR
OL Zach Crabtree OSU JR
OL Victor Salako OSU SR
OL Austin Schlottmann TCU JR
OL Kent Perkins TEX SR
PK Ben Grogan OSU SR
KR/PR Dede Westbrook OU SR

Big 12 2nd Team – Defense

DL Jhaustin Thomas ISU SR
DL Demond Tucker ISU SR
DL Jordan Wade OU SR
DL Aaron Curry TCU SR
DL Breckyn Hager TEX SO
LB Ogbonnia Okoronkwo OU JR
LB Chad Whitener OSU JR
LB Ty Summers TCU SR
DB Patrick Levels BAY SR
DB Kamari Cotton-Moya ISU JR
DB Tre Flowers OSU JR
DB Denzel Johnson TCU SR
DB Nick Orr TCU JR
P Zach Sinor OSU SO


Check out our Gameday Merch

More in Big 12 News