Connect with us

Big 12 News

Six Big 12 Linemen Named To The Outland Trophy Watch List

The Outland Trophy preseason watch list is out, and the Big 12 does not stack up well to the rest of the Power 5.

Getty Images - Icon Sportswire

Media Days and watch lists, it must be July. The Maxwell Award watch list dropped three days ago, and now the 2017 Outland Trophy watch list is out. Unlike the Maxwell Award watch list though, the Big 12 is not well represented this time around.

Just six Big 12 players were named to the Outland Trophy watch list. To put it into perspective,  the Mid-American Conference also had six players named while the American Athletic Conference had nine named.

G Kyle Bosch, West Virginia
OT Orlando Brown, Oklahoma
DT Will Geary, Kansas State
OT Dalton Risner, Kansas State
C Austin Schlottmann, TCU
OT Conner Williams, Texas

Kansas State was the only Big 12 school with more than one player named to the list. The poor representation is not all that surprising. The Outland Trophy goes to the best interior lineman in the country, and as the conference has adopted the up-tempo, run-pass option spread attack, Big 12 linemen have struggled to receive recognition.

Surprisingly, the conferences best known for imposing lines, the SEC and Big Ten, do not lead the nominations. The ACC, with 17 players named, led all conferences. The SEC and Big Ten each had 11 players named. The other Power 5 conference, the Pac-12, had 10 players listed.

Check out our Gameday Merch

More in Big 12 News