Connect with us

Big 12 News

Eight Big 12 Teams Are Bowl Eligible

The Big 12 will send 80% of the conference to a bowl game, the best mark for the conference since 2012

Getty Images - Tim Warner

After Texas Tech completed their comeback victory against Texas last night, it became official that the Big 12 would have eight of their ten teams going to a bowl game.

This is a step up from last year when only six teams from the Big 12 went to bowl games. Both Texas and Texas Tech are going bowling this year after missing out last year. They will join Oklahoma, TCU, Oklahoma State, West Virginia, Iowa State, and Kansas State as Big 12 members going to bowl games.

The eight teams going to bowls is the most that the Big 12 will have sent since the 2012 season when nine teams went bowling. Not coincidentally, this is also the first time since 2012 that Iowa State has gone to a bowl game.

In past years some of the teams near the bottom of the conference found ways to steal a game or two, but with Baylor and Kansas only winning one game each this season, it helped the other teams in conference to get their bowl eligibility.

The only question will be is where the eighth team, Texas Tech, will end up. The Big 12 has bowl tie-ins with seven different bowls including a spot in a New Years 6 bowl. The Big 12 championship game between OU and TCU will have a huge impact on where each team could potentially be placed. If the champion makes the College Football Playoff, the runner-up may sneak into a New Year’s Six Bowl, which would give the Big 12 eight spots. However, since the Sugar Bowl is a Semi Final game this year, the Big 12 only had a guaranteed NY6 spot if the conference fails to make the playoff. If the Big 12 Champion makes the playoff, then the runner-up can only hope to be selected for one of the at-large openings in the NY6 bowls.


More in Big 12 News