Connect with us

Big 12 News

Oklahoma Tight End Mark Andrews Wins John Mackey Award

Oklahoma is now home to the top tight end in the country

The Oklahoman - Steve Sisney

Baker Mayfield is expected to clean up this award season. Mayfield is the odds on favorite for both the Heisman trophy and the Maxwell trophy, as well as a slew of other trophies. Mayfield will have to wait a few more days before he knows the results of those trophies, but while Mayfield waits, one of his teammates just brought home a trophy of his own. On Wednesday, Oklahoma tight end Mark Andrews was announced as the winner of the Mackey Award given to the top tight end in the entire country.

The Mackey Award is named after John Mackey who played tight end for Syracuse in the early 1960’s. Mackey would go on to be drafted in the second round of the 1963 NFL draft by the Baltimore Colts. Mackey would play in the NFL for ten years, earning all-pro honors three times, as well as being named to the pro bowl team five times. Mackey has also been named to the NFL’s 1960’s All-Decade team.

The Mackey award was first awarded in the year 2000, making Andrews the 18th winner of the award. Andrews is the first Oklahoma player to receive the award.

Andrews, the junior out of Scottsdale, AZ, has been an integral piece to this Oklahoma offense that is regarded as the best in the nation. On the season Andrews has caught 58 receptions for 906 yards. He has also brought in eight touchdowns. All of these numbers are career highs for Andrews.

While others on the Oklahoma offense may get more headlines, there is no denying that without Andrews this offense wouldn’t be where it is today.


More in Big 12 News