Connect with us

Big 12 News

Baker Mayfield Wins Davey O’Brien Award

Baker Mayfield wins yet another award, this time for being the nation’s top quarterback.

Getty Images - Icon Sportswire

Baker Mayfield won his third award of the day just minutes ago, as the Oklahoma star was announced as the winner of the Davey O’Brien Award at the college football awards show on ESPN.

Baker has already been named the nation’s best player by the Associated Press today, and picked up the Walter Camp Award just minutes ago, so it’s certainly been a busy day for Mayfield and his head coach Lincoln Riley, both of whom are in Atlanta for the ceremony.

The O’Brien is given to the nation’s top quarterback each season. This the fifth time an Oklahoma player has been given the award, as it was given to Billy Sims in 1978, Jason White in 2003 and 2004, and Sam Bradford in 2008. This is the first time the winner has come from the Big 12 since Robert Griffin III won it in 2011.

Mayfield’s big night likely isn’t done, as the Maxwell award is yet to be announced. Mayfield is a finalist, along with Saquon Barkley and Bryce Love. Baker is the resounding favorite, for both the Maxwell and the Heisman, which will be announced on Saturday.


More in Big 12 News