Connect with us

Big 12 News

Baker Mayfield Wins Walter Camp Award

Baker Mayfield wins yet another national honor.

Brett Deering/Getty Images

A good day for Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield just got even better. After being named the Associated Press College Football Player Of the Year earlier today, Mayfield added another trophy to his collection just minutes ago, as he was announced as the winner of the Walter Camp Award.

The Walter Camp Award goes to the top college football player each season, as voted on by coaches sports information directors all over the country. Baker is the 19th quarterback to win the 50-year-old award, though four of the last five winners have been quarterbacks, including Mayfield (Lamar Jackson, Marcus Mariota, Jameis Winston).

Mayfield is the first Big 12 winner since Colt McCoy won it back to back in 2008 and 2009. The last Oklahoma winner was Josh Heupel in 2000. The only other two Sooner winners are Billy Sims and Steve Owens.

The Walter Camp Award is often a bit of a predictor for the Heisman trophy, as the winner has gone on to win the Heisman every year since 2012, when Mati Te’o won.

This certainly won’t be the last time Baker is announced as the winner this award season in college football, as he’s still up for the Maxwell, O’Brien (both are being announced tonight), and most importantly, the Heisman, which will be announced Saturday. His teammate, tight end Mark Andrews, was awarded the Mackey Award for best tight end earlier today.


More in Big 12 News