Connect with us

Big 12 News

Oklahoma’s Connor McGinnis Wins Holder Of The Year

It is a real award, and Oklahoma’s holder brought it home last night.

The Daily - Caitlyn Epes

When you have one of the top offenses in the entire country, if not the top, it should come as no surprise that many of the end of season awards would find their way to Norman, OK. Baker Mayfield has already won numerous awards, and tight end Mark Andrews brought home the Mackey Award earlier this week. Mayfield is also the odds on favorite to win the Heisman trophy.

Another award was given out on Thursday night to an Oklahoma player, but this is a player you have probably never heard of. Oklahoma’s holder, Connor McGinnis, won the Mortell Award for Holder of the Year at the Home Depot College Football Awards.

For those of you maybe not completely sure what the holder does, the tweet above gives you the extent of their responsibilities. The holder is the player responsible for holding the ball on field goals and extra points.

The Mortell Award is one of the newest awards to be given out each year. McGinnis is only the third player to take home this award.

The Mortell Award is named after former Minnesota holder Peter Mortell, who took home the award in its inaugural year. Last year the award was taken home by Michigan holder Garrett Moores.

This is one of the more unique awards, but with one of the better reasons for its existence. Each year the winner of the Mortell Award is given the platform and opportunity to help raise money for a charity of their choosing.

McGinnis is a redshirt sophomore from Oklahoma City, OK. The 6-foot-3 195 pound back-up quarterback was the holder in every single game for the Sooners this year. Additionally, McGinnis finished the semester with a 4.0 GPA, and was named to the Academic All Big 12 first team.

Below you can watch McGinnis’ acceptance speech for the Mortell Award:


More in Big 12 News