Connect with us

Big 12 News

Texas Punter Michael Dickson Wins Ray Guy Award

Texas’ punter takes home top honors at the Home Depot College Football Awards

Getty Images - Brett Deering

2017 was not the season that most of the Longhorn faithful had hoped for or expected. Texas went 6-6 in Tom Herman’s first season, and struggled to produce much of anything on the offensive side of the ball. The defense played very well under defensive coordinator Todd Orlando, but the position that stood out from the rest was punter. Michael Dickson consistently flipped filed position, and pinned opposing offenses against their goal lines.

On Thursday night, Dickson was recognized for his outstanding season by winning the Ray Guy Award as college football’s most outstanding punter.

The Ray Guy award has been awarded since the year 2000, and honors the career of Ray Guy, who played his college football at Southern Mississippi. Guy was an All-American punter in college, and would go on to have an all-pro career in the NFL with the Oakland Raiders.

Dickson is the first Texas player to win the award, and the first player from the Big 12 to take home the award since Oklahoma State’s Matt Fodge in 2008.

On the season, Dickson punted 73 times with an average distance of 48.4 yards per punt, the best mark in the nation. Dickson’s 3532 of yards punted was also a nation leading mark for total yards punted.

Dickson is now the fifth consecutive Australian to take home the award, joining Utah’s Mitch Wishnowsky (2016), Utah’s Tom Hackett (2014 & 2015), and Memphis’ Tom Hornsey (2013).


More in Big 12 News