Connect with us

The Preseason All-Big 12 team has been announced, and Baylor fans have to like what they see. The Bears have a whopping seven players on the list, including Preseason Defensive Player of the Year, Shawn Oakman. In comparison Oklahoma has five players, and TCU has four. In addition, K-State, Texas Tech, West Virginia, and Oklahoma State each had three players receive the honor, and while Texas had one.  Kansas and Iowa State were the only two schools without a player named.

The Pre-season All-Big 12 Team is below, but first a few thoughts on it.

  • Texas continually out recruits the rest of the Big 12, but that talent isn’t being developed on the field, and the Longhorns are no longer getting the benefit of the doubt. It goes to show just how much work is still in front of Charlie Strong in his second year.
  • The rivals to the north don’t seem to have that problem though. It’s somewhat surprising to see the Sooners so well represented given how things ended last season, but it highlights why the Sooners’ stock has been rising throughout the off-season.
  • Oklahoma State could have a ridiculously good defense this season. Since 2011 the Cowboys have had some of the better defense in the league, but with preseason honors at every defensive level, this year could be something special.
  • You have to marvel at Baylor’s rise to the top. It’s just unparalleled.

Offensive Player of the Year: Trevone Boykin (TCU, QB, Sr)
Defensive Player of the Year: Shawn Oakman (Baylor, DE, Sr)
Newcomer of the Year: Chris Carson (OK State, RB, Jr)


QB – Trevone Boykin (TCU, Sr)
RB – Shock Linwood (Baylor, Jr)
RB – Samaje Perine (Oklahoma, So)
FB – Glenn Gronkowski (K-State, Jr)
WR – Corey Coleman (Baylor, Jr)
WR – Sterling Shepard (Oklahoma, Sr)
WR – Josh Doctson (TCU, Sr)
TE – Tre’Von Armstead (Baylor, Jr)
OL – Spencer Drango (Baylor, Sr)
OL – Cody Whitehair (K-State, Sr)
OL – Joey Hunt (TCU, Sr)
OL – Halapoulivaati Vaitai (TCU, Sr)
OL – Le’Raven Clark (Texas Tech, Sr)
PK – Josh Lambert (WVU, Jr)
KR/PR – Alex Ross (Oklahoma, Jr)


DL – Andrew Billings (Baylor, Jr)
DL – Shawn Oakman (Baylor, Sr)
DL – Emmanuel Ogbah (OK State, Jr)
DL – Davion Pierson (TCU, Sr)
DL – Pete Robertson (Texas Tech, Sr)
LB – Eric Striker (Oklahoma, Sr)
LB – Ryan Simmons (OK State, Sr)
LB – Nick Kwiatkoski (WVU, Sr)
DB – Orion Stewart (Baylor, Jr)
DB – Dante Barnett (K-State, Sr)
DB – Zack Sanchez (Oklahoma, Jr)
DB – Kevin Peterson (OK State, Sr)
DB – Duke Thomas (Texas, Sr)
DB – Karl Joseph (WVU, Sr)
P – Taylor Symmank (Texas Tech, Sr)